Thursday 26th June 2014


New Midland Football League Gets The Go-Ahead


Rocester will be playing in the newly-formed Midland Football League this coming season, though it is still to be confirmed whether the Romans will be playing in the Premier Division or Division One.


The constitution of the new league was almost finalised at the inaugural AGM held at the Cadburys Club in Birmingham on Wednesday evening, after the member clubs of the Midland Football Alliance and the Midland Combination voted overwhelmingly to merge the two bodies together.


The one outstanding issue concerns Highgate United and Rocester - one of whom will remain at Step 5 in the Premier Division while the other will be relegated into Division One. Our fate will be determined by the F.A. after they hear an appeal by Highgate United against their relegation due to ground-grading issues. Put simply, if Highgate's appeal fails then Rocester will not be relegated.


With just over one month remaining before the new season kicks off this obviously isn't an ideal situation for us to be in, but there's little else we can do other than remain patient and wait and see what happens.


Should the appeal go against Highgate, the Romans will remain at step 5 of the national non-league system and take their place in the Premier Division alongside promoted teams Brocton and Lye Town, and Long Eaton United and Nottingham outfit Basford United, both transferred sideways from the Northern Counties East league.


Midland Football Alliance champions Tividale were confirmed as promoted to the Northern Premier League Division One South several weeks ago.


The new league will kick off on Saturday 2nd August.


Premier Division: (Step 5) AFC Wulfrunians; Alvechurch; Basford United; Boldmere St. Michaels; Brocton; Causeway United; Coleshill Town; Continental Star; Coventry Sphinx; Dunkirk; Heath Hayes; Kirby Muxloe; Long Eaton United; Loughborough University; Lye Town; Quorn; Rocester or Highgate United; Shepshed Dynamo; Stourport Swifts; Tipton Town; Walsall Wood; Westfields.


Division One: (Step 6) Alvis Sporting Club; Atherstone Town; Bolehall Swifts; Bromsgrove Sporting; Cadbury Athletic; Coventry Copsewood; Heather St. John's; Highgate United or Rocester; Hinckley AFC; Lichfield City; Littleton; Nuneaton Griff; Pelsall Villa; Pershore Town; Pilkington XXX; Racing Club Warwick; Southam United; Stafford Town; Studley; Uttoxeter Town.